From the Georgia Chamber of Commerce:


The Georgia Chamber of Commerce announced its 2014 Legislators of the Year on Wednesday, June 4, 2014.  Senator Fran Millar (Atlanta), Representative Mark Hamilton (Cumming) and Representative Sam Watson (Moultrie) were recognized respectively as the Legislator of the Year in the Senate, House, and as the top freshman.


“These three individuals are shining examples of the kind of leaders we need to keep our economy growing,” said the Chamber’s 2014 Board Chair, Ernest Greer of Greenberg Traurig.  “They understand what companies need in order to confidently make investments and create jobs.  They deserve credit for allowing Georgia to become the globally recognized place for business it is today.”


All three legislators received an A+ on the Georgia Chamber’s 2014 Legislative Scorecard for the two-year term.  In addition, they each actively supported a number of the organization’s top priorities.


“In the face of strong and vocal opposition, Senator Millar stood firm in his support of the continued implementation of the Common Core State Standards – something we believe is critical to Georgia’s ability to build a 21st century workforce,” continued Clark.


“Representative Hamilton helped shepherd one of the Chamber’s top priorities through the legislative process this year,” added the Georgia Chamber’s Government Affairs Council Chair Roy Robinson.  “With his help, we have ensured a level playing field for all businesses that are required to pay into the state’s unemployment insurance trust fund.  This may not have been the highest profile issue, but is one that directly impacts every company in Georgia’s bottom line.”

“It is great to see a new legislator like Representative Watson step up to support the needs of his constituents,” commented David Raynor, the Georgia Chamber’s senior vice president for public affairs.  “As our Chamber works for the betterment of all Georgia industries, it is great to have a new partner who is looking out for the needs of the agriculture community and rural Georgia.”

The Georgia Chamber presents its Legislator of the Year awards annually after the conclusion ofthe legislative session and the release of its legislative scorecard.  To learn more about the organization’s legislative and advocacy efforts, visit


Lost your password?