On Tuesday morning Georgia’s U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson and David Perdue both voted to confirm President Donald Trump’s nominee for Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos.

The vote in the Senate was a 50-50 with two Republicans, Senators Susan Collins of Maine and Lisa Murkowski of Alaska breaking from party ranks to cast ballots against the President’s nominee.  That left the deciding vote to Vice President Mike Pence, who of course broke the tie in favor of DeVos. 

Please enter your User Name and Password to view the rest of this subscriber-only story. If you are unable to login, your account may have expired. Please contact James Online if you have any problems.




Lost your password?